Voyager at the Aurealis Awards 2012

Last Saturday The Independent Theatre in North Sydney played host to the 17th Annual Aurealis Awards*. Harper Voyager Australia again sponsored the awards along with Galaxy Bookshop.

We’re super-proud to announce that The Courier’s New Bicycle by Kim Westwood (HarperVoyagerAU) won best Sci-Fi Novel and Ghosts by Gaslight (HarperVoyagerUS) edited by Jack Dann & Nick Gevers won best Anthology! Creature Court author Tansy Rayner Roberts’ podcast Galactic Suburbia also won the Peter McNamara award.

Congratulations to our shortlisted authors as well –  The Undivided by Jennifer Fallon(VoyagerAU), The Shattered City by Tansy Rayner Roberts (VoyagerAU) & Stormlord’s Exile by Glenda Larke (VoyagerAU) for the Best Fantasy Novel of 2011, and Children of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy (VoyagerUS) for Best Sci-Fi Novel of 2011.

Susan Wardle, co-convenor of the awards, said that with approximately 700 entries across the thirteen categories, the judges had a challenging task. “The winners represent the best of Australian fantasy, horror and science fiction writing in 2011 as judged by a pannel of their peers. This year’s winners join the likes of Sara Douglass, Garth Nix, Isonelle Carmody, Trudi Canavan, Shaun Tan and Sean Williams, all of whom are multiple Aurealis Award Winners.”

Congratulations again to all our winners!

*The Aurealis Awards were established in 1995 by Chimaera Publications, the publishers of Aurealis magazine, to recognise the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.



Harper Voyager on Twitter