Steampunk fantasy THE CLOCKWORK DAGGER debuts today

  • Posted by admin on Sep 16 2014

Happy pub day to Voyager author Beth Cato for her enchanting fantasy debut, The Clockwork Dagger! Full of magic, mystery, and romance, perfect for fans of Trudi Canavan and Gail Carriger.

Orphaned as a child, Octavia Leander was doomed to grow up on the streets until Miss Percival saved her and taught her to become a medician. Gifted with incredible powers, the young healer is about to embark on her first mission, visiting suffering cities in the far reaches of the war-scarred realm. But the airship on which she is traveling is plagued by a series of strange and disturbing occurrences, including murder, and Octavia herself is threatened.

Suddenly, she is caught up in a flurry of intrigue: the dashingly attractive steward may be one of the infamous Clockwork Daggers—the Queen’s spies and assassins—and her cabin-mate harbors disturbing secrets. But the danger is only beginning, for Octavia discovers that the deadly conspiracy aboard the airship may reach the crown itself.

Get your copy now!  B&N  |  iBooks  |  IndieBound  | Amazon  | HC.com (15% off with free shipping, and 20% off ebook!)

Read more »

Death’s Head Legion: Part II of The Spear of Destiny

  • Posted by admin on Jan 04 2013

Part II of The Spear of DestinyNazi zombies threaten to take over the world in Trey Garrison’s pulp-esque diesel-punk action-adventure, Death’s Head Legion: Part II of The Spear of Destiny!

Here’s a bit about the book: 

When we last saw our heroes… they were on their way to the Vatican, looking for the “spear of destiny,” in order to destroy the zombie army of the Black Sun Reich. Armed with snarky banter and bizarre weaponry provided to them by none other than Nicola Tesla, Dietel, Rucker and company have a young-gun Nazi daredevil hot on their trail, bent on ending their quest in the most brutal of ways. And time is getting shorter… 

The North American continent is made up of several rival nations, and a Cold War is building between them. The Nazis rose to power a decade earlier. People travel by airship and powerful organizations calculate with Babbage’s Difference Engine. The Nazis have hatched a plot to raise a legion of undead soldiers.

Enter Sean Fox Rucker and Jesus D’Anconia Lago, two Great War veterans and freelance pilots who are pulled into the quest. They are joined by a brash Greek merchant, a brilliant Jewish cowboy, and the woman who once broke Rucker’s heart. This ragtag band of reluctant, bickering, swashbuckling heroes soon is locked in a globe-spanning race against Nazi occultists, clockwork assassins, and a darkly charismatic commando. In a world where science and the supernatural co-exist, and the monsters of legend are as real necromancers who summon them from dark realms, our heroes alone stand before the rising darkness. But all their efforts may not be enough.

The stakes? Who will be first to secure an ancient holy relic that will lead to either the salvation or the downfall of mankind?

Garrison recaptures the unapologetic adventure, wonder and excitement of the classic pulp fiction of the 1930s and 1940s, blending elements of Steampunk with deeply-researched historical fiction and a good dose of humor. The novel also explores major philosophical and moral issues relevant to our contemporary world: the trade-off between security and liberty, the morality of pre-emptive war, and what fundamentally separates good from evil.

Don’t miss the other parts of this serialized novel – Part One: Black Sun Reich and Part Three: Shadows Will Fall.

About the Author:

Trey Garrison has been a newspaperman, a magazine writer, and a soldier of misfortune. He’s a master in the kitchen, great at the gun range, and decent at Kung Fu. THE SPEAR OF DESTINY is his debut novel. He lives in Texas.

People are loving The Spear of Destiny: 

“Imagine an alternate version of some of history’s great events combined with a blissfully diabolical imagination.  Add a cast of rogue characters and a storytelling ability that leaves you breathless.  The result is Trey Garrison’s excellent debut novel, THE SPEAR OF DESTINY, a book full of dry humor and page-turning action, sure to leave you wanting more.”

—Harry Hunsicker, Author of The Contractors and former EVP of the Mystery Writers of America

Black Sun Reich delivers enormous amounts of action, horror, and humor. I am eagerly awaiting Book Two in the The Spear of Destiny Trilogy.”

My Name is: Sage

“It’s an excellent read from an exciting author.”
Books Are Cool

 

 Black Sun Reich and  Death’s Head Legion  are now on sale wherever e-books are sold! Look out for the final installment, Shadow’s Will Fall, on 1/22/2013!

 

Read more »

Alternate History Lessons with Trey Garrison, Author of Black Sun Reich

  • Posted by admin on Dec 18 2012

Trey Garrison, author of The Spear of Destiny is stopping by the Harper Voyager blog to give us all a lesson in alternate history, steampunk versus dieselpunk, and more!  Black Sun Reich: Part 1 of  The Spear of Destiny goes on sale wherever e-books are sold today (12/18/12). Look out for parts 2 and 3 in January!

Part 1 of The Spear of DestinyI want to start by asking your indulgence that I reference movies and TV as much as books. I think it’s likely people have more of a shared cultural experience from movies than books, even those of us who are voracious readers.

I first conceived The Spear of Destiny after watching one of the Bourne Identity movies. I loved the realistic, gritty and intelligent take on the spy genre, but when I walked out of the theater I felt like I’d been beaten. What I felt like adventure stories have been lacking is a sense of unapologetic wonder and fun. I recalled how when I was a kid I walked out of Raiders of the Lost Ark bursting with energy and ready to take on the world.

I can appreciate the gritty anti-hero so popular in adventure books and movies, but there’s also a place for the old-fashioned hero in literature. Not every hero has to be motivated by some grim backstory or horrible incident. Heroes can be larger than life and still believable if they’re written right. Joss Whedon’s Avengers (and his series Firefly) showed that you can have stories that are intelligent, nuanced and fantastic, and still retain a sense of fun. Some of my favorite books and authors have done this in works that, quite frankly, inspired this tale and the way I told it. Chief among them are Mike Resnick, John Ringo, Harry Harrison, Robert Heinlein, and S.M. Stirling. Other authors showed me that you could have a nuanced discussion of political philosophy within the boundary of a great adventure tale, without it becoming a preachy message work. I’m thinking of Poul Anderson’s whole Technic series, especially the collections “Trader to the Stars” and “The Van Rijn Method,” as well as James P. Hogan’s “Voyage from Yesteryear” and F. Paul Wilson’s “Enemy of the State.”

The primary hero in The Spear of Destiny, Sean “Fox” Rucker, is larger than life, but he’s still human and while he doesn’t always live up to his ideals, he certainly tries to. The other primary hero, Dr. Kurt von Deitel, is inspired to rise above his limits by the example Rucker sets, even if he and Rucker don’t get along at all. People think writers like to make their hero an idealized version of themselves. That may be true in that Rucker is the kind of man I’d like to be, but I see as much of myself in Deitel – his insecurities, his pessimism, and his foibles. If anything Deitel is the primary hero in that he undergoes the greatest change and most growth in the book.

As far as alternate history goes, it’s true that real life is stranger than fiction. Leaving aside the supernatural elements of the story, some of things that seem the most fantastic in my book are actually based on historical fact. I leave that to you to figure what is fact and what is fiction. And I’ve left more Easter eggs and love notes to my favorite authors, books and movies than I can remember at this point. It’s a book anyone looking for a good adventure tale and especially for genre fans.

My goal with The Spear of Destiny is just to tell a fun adventure yarn. I want it to bring a sense of wonder, of what if, and – yes – plain old fun. It combines zombies, cowboys, Nazis, robots, swashbuckling heroes, and elements of steampunk and deiselpunk, but it does so with a certain modern self-awareness of what it is. I am really hopeful people will see the wry sense of humor I’ve tried to imbue it with. When you get done with parts one, two and three, aside from wanting to read the sequel, I want you to feel energized and excited. I want you to feel like that kid again, ready to go swashbuckling and taking on evil.

 

Black Sun Reich: Part 1 of the Spear of Destiny on-sale 12/18/12 wherever e-books are sold

Death’s Head Legion: Part 2 of the Spear of Destiny on-sale 1/2/13 wherever e-books are sold

Shadows Will Fall: Part 3 of the Spear of Destiny on-sale 1/22/13 wherever e-books are sold

Read more »

New paperbacks for Stephen Hunt – Master of Steampunk

  • Posted by admin on Jul 27 2012

It’s always exciting when new, shiny books land on my desk, and today I was thrilled to find the b-format paperback of From the Deep of the Dark by Stephen Hunt awaiting me when I came back from a meeting. This is the sixth and final tale of high adventure and derring-do from the undisputed master of steampunk literature. Although this fantastic novel can easily standalone from the rest of the series, we strongly recommend that you read them all, starting with The Court of the Air.

From the Deep of the Dark is available in b-format paperback on 13 September 2012.

‘Hunt’s imagination is probably visible from space … Hold on to your hat and let yourself get carried away’ SFX

Pre-order the paperback now
Buy on Kindle

A daring underwater chase ends in a battle for the Kingdom itself…

The streets of Middlesteel are under attack by an unseen enemy, leaving bloodless corpses in its trail. The newssheets scream vampire, but the truth is even more deadly than anyone knows.

Charlotte Shades, Mistress of Mesmerism, is a thief – and a darned good one at that. When two mysterious men ask her to steal King Jude’s Sceptre from the Parliament vaults, the challenge (and reward) is too great to pass up. After all, Charlotte’s natural charm and the magic of the gem she wears – the mysterious Eye of Fate – have never failed her before.

Only consulting detective Jethro Daunt and his steamman companion Boxiron know there’s more to these two men than meets the eye. Yet even as they rescue Charlotte from a fate worse than death, they are thrown into a plot thicker than even they realize. They escape beneath the waves in an ancient submarine led by Commodore Jethro Black, where they encounter stiff resistance from the strange people who inhabit the vast underwater kingdoms. But man, woman, seanore and gillneck alike must band together if they are to defeat a danger that might not even be from this world…

Read more »