The Promise – by Ash Fitzsimmons

The Promise – by Ash Fitzsimmons

What is it about contemporary fantasy—urban and its more suburban and rural cousins—that makes it so appealing as a genre? All stories make promises. Science fiction offers high-tech tools and strange new worlds. Romance assures you that despite the odds, the lovers are going to have their happily ever after. Crime fiction often guarantees that … Read More

Why Fantasy? – By Nathan Garrison

Why Fantasy? – By Nathan Garrison

Despite the popularity of Lord of the Rings and Games of Thrones (to name a very, very few) it still shocks me how many people cringe at the idea of fantasy in the written form.  Even self-proclaimed “geeks”, who can name every Avenger ever and describe obscure plotlines from the Star Wars expanded universe, still give me blanks looks and surreptitious hints that if I’m going to write I should write something people actually like.

Cover Reveal: MARKSWOMAN by Rati Mehrotra

Cover Reveal: MARKSWOMAN by Rati Mehrotra

Greetings, Voyagers! Today, I am so excited to share the gorgeous cover of Rati Mehrotra’s kick-ass debut, MARKSWOMAN, which goes on sale in January 2018. MARKSWOMAN is set in the fictional world of Asiana, a post-apocalyptic rendering of Asia. In Asiana, the peace has long been kept by several orders of knife-wielding female assassins. The blades of these powerful women … Read More

The Prey of Gods is on sale today

The Prey of Gods is on sale today

Nicky Drayden’s debut novel The Prey of Gods is on sale today! From a new voice in the tradition of Lauren Beukes, Ian McDonald, and Nnedi Okorafor comes The Prey of Gods, a fantastic, boundary-challenging tale, set in a South African locale both familiar and yet utterly new, which braids elements of science fiction, fantasy, horror, and dark … Read More

Love & Fantasy: A Promise of Fire by Amanda Bouchet

by Pam J. Every now and then, we get to take a mini-vacay from Nova’s incessant fiction addiction, and read outside the Voyager pantheon. (gasp!)  So this starts one of a few new readings series on the blog, with bookish musings, pulled from our own personal bookshelves. Because reading = escapism = important! Long before binge … Read More

Nicky Drayden’s THE PREY OF GODS — cover!

Summer 2017 is going to be an amazing time for Harper Voyager, and it’s not that far away! One book we’re really excited about is Nicky Drayden’s debut, The Prey of Gods. And now we have an brilliant cover!   With art by the extremely talented Brenoch Adams, and designed by HarperCollins designer-extraordinaire Owen Corrigan, we … Read More

Free SFF Reads If You’re Missing Phoenix Comic Con!

Free SFF Reads If You’re Missing Phoenix Comic Con!

Pick your favorite flavor of science fiction and fantasy this weekend whether or not you can attend Phoenix ComicCon 2016! Harper Voyager has you covered this week. If you feel like you’re missing out on great SFF reads because you couldn’t make it to PHXCC, Harper Voyager and Instafreebie have your back. Enjoy one of … Read More

Free SciFi Reads from Harper Voyager with Playcrafting, and instaFreebie

Free SciFi Reads from Harper Voyager with Playcrafting, and instaFreebie

Enjoy 15 different titles of science fiction and fantasy content whether or not you can attend PAX East! Harper Voyager has you covered this week. “Playcrafting empowers the game development community through education, networking, and collaboration. They help gamers and enthusiasts learn from and connect with developers and give more established developers the tools to … Read More

Sign up for Newsletters

Harper Voyager on Twitter